2015 Scholarship Winners

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the
2015 Sam Bomar Memorial Scholarship Awards
(a fund of West Tennessee Healthcare)

2015 $1000 Scholarship Winners


Tobi Adedokun
Madison Academic High School

Tobi Adedokun, a student at Madison Academic High School, is the daughter of Faye and Tade Abedokun. Tobi has received a $1000 scholarship. She is a junior volunteer at the Jackson Madison County General Hospital and has volunteered at the Hands Up! Learning Center, RIFA, Birth Choice, and the ComeUnity Café. Tobi intends to major in chemical engineering and Spanish and wants to use her language skills to help under-served Spanish speaking individuals with their health care needs.


Rachel Carson
Trinity Christian Academy

Rachel Carson, a student at Trinity Christian Academy, has received the $1000 scholarship for a non-Madison Academic senior. Rachel is the daughter of Lisa and Rusty Carson. Rachel plans to attend University of Tennessee Knoxville and major in law enforcement. Rachel has participated in Leadership University and went on a mission trip to Uganda in 2012. She has volunteered at Meridian Baptist Church, the Carl Perkins Child Abuse Center, Hands Up!, RIFA, and the Therapy and Learning Center.


2015 $500 Faith and Family Award Winner


Lexis Childress, a student at South Side High School, has received the Sam Bomar Faith and Family Award in the amount of $500. Lexis plans to major in early childhood at Jackson State Community College. Her references describe her as a "strong student academically" and a "role model and leader for her peers."



Mrs. Jerrie Taylor In Memoriam Award $500


Andrew (Drew) Wells, is a student at Madison Academic High School. He has received a $500 scholarship in memory of Madison's beloved biology teacher, Mrs. Jerrie Taylor. Drew intends to major in biochemistry and plans to become an immunologist. He was the only student in his class to receive a perfect score on the TCAP writing assessment. Each year, he is a volunteer counselor at Goshen Trails Church Camp.


Madison Academic High Scout Eagle Scout Merit Award - $250

Henry Clement

Donald Heath

Andrew Carter

Blake Monroe

Benjamin Greer


Return to Homepage